the friday that just passed just so happened to be my sister’s birthday.

which always feels a tiny tiny bit meaningless since she never seems to get any more mature. or at least never seems to act more her age, which at the moment is the age of a university student. go ask her if she’d rather go to a party with her friends, or spent the night reading her favourite childhood picture books and see how she answers. nooo competition. robert munsch, anyone?

either way, at whatever age she decides is a suitable age to finally catch up with maturity, i do hope she never stops liking cake.

my parents aren’t so fond of me when i attempt to make a cake where frosting accompanies it. frankly, i’ve always had terrible experiences with creating a good-tasting mixture of anything involving butter, cream, and [icing] sugar. but now that i think about it… i should probably start neglecting margarine and use butter more often. ahh, now everything makes more sense.

anyway, i mean that because my parents don’t approve of my cakes with frosting, they opted to buy a cake for my sister’s birthday instead of letting me make one for her. but that never stops me  ! after we came home from the store i started making extra stuffs for my sister’s special day, including sushi, mint-chocolate brownies, and this lemon cake topped with raspberries.

(is it just me, or does the cake in the first picture look like a robot’s head?)

for some reason, it’s always hard for me to describe food, in terms of its texture, taste, and whatever else people like to notice. it was good, not too sweet. it tasted yummy. the raspberry gave the cake a nice flavour. yeah. how do i rise above this awkward moment…

i used the recipe for raspberry-topped lemon muffins from smitten kitchen. if you put a muffin batter into a cake pan, the result is cake, right?

my parents aren’t so fond of me when i attempt to make a cake where frosting accompanies it. frankly,
